CHICAGO

DSC04477

Shoreline. I love this photo because it was the perfect timing with the sun in between the buildings, and I wasn’t the only one to notice this beauty

new

I wanted to try leaving the shutter speed open for a really long time to emphasize the speed of it but it wasn’t as good as I hoped. I’ll try again next time.

DSC04184

Towers

DSC04282

This is one of the examples where its just a really tiny detail of the city. I just wanted to point out how the trash can be beautiful too.

best bird

Bird!

DSC04295

I just laughed so hard when I saw those seagulls on the bean watching a crowd of humans taking photos of their reflections.

DSC04378

This is my favorite photo because who doesn’t like photos of little kids, particularly photogenic ones.

betteer

the sticker speaks the truth!

DSC04628

We had to catch our plane so we were in a rush but I just had to stop and take this photo!

flower

The message I was trying to pass through this photo was the death of nature as more and more cities rise. Sad thought.

DSC04251I was really excited to go to Chicago because it’s such a famous city,so after my tournament, my mom and I took the streets and began our exploration. And here comes a travel tip #1: FIGURE OUT TRANSPORTATION. We had a rental car with us, but it is almost impossible to get anywhere with a car because of the traffic. So our two other options were walking and biking. There are various different rental bikes at different rates. It probably took us one hour to decide which to use. Although biking was faster, it was just as tiring. At the end of the day, we would walk off our bikes with everything from the waist down sore. On the third day of our trip, we explored everything there was to see, which included: the lake shore, Italy town, China town, the main part of Chicago (downtown? lolz). So with a map and an extremely uncomfortable bike seat we rode 20 miles all over the city. The worst part was the fact that none of us ever rode a bike in a busy city so it was just a little dangerous (very dangerous), but fun nonetheless. Travel tip #2: the tourist ads are never as cool as they seem to be.  For example, we went to the Sears tower and you could go up to the 100th floor and stand in a glass box that stuck out of the tower. The line to get up probably took 20 minutes and the line to stand in the box took another 20 minutes. All for a few photos that took maximum, 10 seconds. I don’t know why this always happens but the best part of visiting a city is never the tourist areas, but just wandering off by yourself and taking photos. The best part of biking is that you can ride far and stop anytime, take your camera out and take photo. For some of these photos, I wanted to just try to capture the area, and some are just random photos of tiny details I thought were worth sharing. Whenever I go to a big place, I have this tendency to try to pick out the really small details that don’t really represent the place but are just interesting to me. The last few are in black and white, just because I wanted to test it out. I’ve never tried editing my photos in black and white before so I’m not really sure what looks better in color and what doesn’t. If any of you have any advice on this, comment below!

As always,

.Enjoy life, Enjoy the world.

Felicia

3 comments

  1. cutipy97 · October 17, 2014

    great blog. great person. great picture. great comment

    Like

  2. Amber Duong · December 7, 2014

    in love with these pics especially chicago ones

    Like

Leave a Reply

